inspiiral

– a collision of art and writing interlocking in spirals

College newspaper entry (old) (“How to fill the world with passion”)

Leave a comment

hey all!

So I was rummaging through my writing and stumbled upon an old entry for a newspaper article 😛
This wasn’t like a famous local newspaper or anything, but it was a newspaper shared among colleges, and could be found somewhere near the back of a local newspaper haha. Students sent entries in , and the best entries were published.
My entry didn’t get published, but I thought I’d share it with you guys anyway. I think the entry was based on the weekly theme “How to make the world a better place”. If I could, I think I’d rename the theme to “how to fill the world with passion” haha. Just cos (FYI I can spell “because”, but “cos” is shorter and sounds more conversational) my article focuses on passion so much.

Like usual, I appreciate comments and feedback. Let me know if some areas could do with some editing, or if other parts could flow better.

(Btw, the title is based on a motto I heard somewhere. It’s something quite well-known, and I thought it’d be good for capturing the readers’ attention when I wrote this article. I don’t own the motto or anything..) 

Enjoy.

– Inspiiral


=========================================================================
Side note:

This article is on the short side to fit the newspaper’s word limit criteria.
=========================================================================

“It ain’t what you do, it’s the way that you do it, and that’s what gets results.”

Have you ever been told you can’t be a ________ because you’re not a “Science” person, or you’re “not good at maths” or “you can’t earn much with that career?”

There is a lot of scepticism surrounding career choices, and I believe emphasis has been put on the wrong things. “English is just about reading story books” is what I heard from one parent today when I told them I wanted to be an English teacher. The thing is, ANY subject can just be about ___ (insert sceptic word here) when you have an attitude like that. Art can just be about drawing pictures, maths can just be about calculations. It’s not what you do; it’s how you do it. What matters most is what you have PASSION for, what you LOVE doing, and what INSPIRES you.

Yes, maybe a doctor does get more pay than a teacher, but if your passion doesn’t lie in helping cure people, then what’s the point? Won’t you just be diminishing your bright future, risking your all for a mundane job? If everyone just did things for money or self gain, then wouldn’t this world would be void of passion? To me, that would possibly be worse than global warming. Possibly.

You get my drift. I believe passion is one way to make the world a better place. We have all been gifted with the passion for something, so why not put it to good use? For me, my passion lies in writing and analysing English, and to have the privilege to help others in doing that would be an honour.

For those who have yet to discover their passion, I encourage you to try all things, experience all things! In an article I read recently, I heard the story of a 71 year-old Nanny who took up karate. Now, seven years on, she’s a black belt. “It just goes to show that you are never old enough to give something a go,” she said. And it’s true. No-one laughs at you for trying; in fact people admire and acknowledge you for it. I mean, the thief the Nanny scared off certainly didn’t laugh at her when she got into fighting stance. That and the fact that she appeared in a magazine shows people do care about this sort of thing.

So what have you got to lose? “It ain’t what you do, it’s the way that you do it, and that’s what gets results.”

Author: inspiiral

Sharing my splash of ideas :)

Leave a Reply

